Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Domain of the function of two variables

Chipset3600

Feb 14, 2012
Hi, i'm studying Calculus 2 now, and im a litle bit confused in this question.
1- Determine and plot the domain of the function of two variables
a) [TEX]f(x,y)=\sqrt[]{1+x^{2}+y^{2}}[/TEX]

[TEX]x^{2}+y^{2}\geq -1[/TEX] doing [TEX]x^{2}+y^{2}= -1[/TEX] i guess this is the graph of Hyperbole, but my teacher said is a circumference with radius "-1", whel i said but radius is a size, can't be negative, and he told me to think.
does someone can explain to me?

Ackbach

Indicium Physicus
Staff member
Jan 26, 2012
If you're dealing with all real variables, then the domain is the entire plane of $\mathbb{R}^{2}$, because, as you've said, $x^{2}+y^{2}\ge -1$. You've said that the problem is asking you to plot the domain. Are you sure it's the domain and not the function $f$?

Chipset3600

Feb 14, 2012
If you're dealing with all real variables, then the domain is the entire plane of $\mathbb{R}^{2}$, because, as you've said, $x^{2}+y^{2}\ge -1$. You've said that the problem is asking you to plot the domain. Are you sure it's the domain and not the function $f$?
Yes is just to represent the domain and not the function f

Jameson

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 26, 2012
This is along the sames lines as what Ackbach wrote.

If we have $\displaystyle f(x,y)=\sqrt[]{1+x^{2}+y^{2}}$ then as you said that shows that $\displaystyle x^{2}+y^{2}\geq -1$.

You're right that you can't have a negative radius for a circle if we are dealing with real numbers, so what do you think that means the domain is? Is it ever true that $\displaystyle x^{2}+y^{2} < -1$?

Chipset3600

Feb 14, 2012
This is along the sames lines as what Ackbach wrote.

If we have $\displaystyle f(x,y)=\sqrt[]{1+x^{2}+y^{2}}$ then as you said that shows that $\displaystyle x^{2}+y^{2}\geq -1$.