Doing independent study/research with a physics professor in my first year?

In summary, the professor has a project for me that I can do in 3 years instead of 4. I am smart and can handle it, but I am overwhelmed and don't know if I can do it.
mc0210
I met with a REALLY nice professor who is doing theoretical nuclear and particle physics (one of my interests). I am in my first year, but can graduate in three years instead of four because of AP credit (with already having taken AP Physics with Calculus and am currently taking Quantum). So he says he has a project I can work on, relating to Q-Balls and specifically Q-clouds. I mean, I am smart. But right now he has me reading this insane paper he and his masters student worked on and the math and concepts are obviously difficult (Im in multi and diff. eqs. right now). I guess I will mainly be doing computational/numerical analysis for solutions, but if i can't understand the math I am not sure how I can compute solutions. He seems really excited and I am too, I just don't want to let him or myself down. Has anybody had a student in a similar situation that I am in? How did it work out? Any information about what I can expect would be appreciated. He is very patient, but if I just won't understand the concepts it will be a long semester.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
If you think you can handle it, go for it. Why not?

I thought it was funny "I mean, I'm smart".

Also, go for 4 years. Take some fluff classes your senior year, and see if you can do research/work then. Explore, get to know yourself and your college better. It's more important than you think.

Yeah similar situation, but as a 4th year student getting his first taste in research. It is overwhelming at first, especially if you're that early into your education. It gets better. This is a great learning opportunity, I've learned more physics and math actually doing my research than I have in many of my senior courses.