Does work experience count in getting into a top US school?

In summary, if you have 7 years of work experience in a relevant field, and want to do a masters in a US school, your chances are good. However, it's important to do your research before spending money on a degree, and it's also important to consider whether you will be able to stay in the US if you graduates.
rayamr
Hi,

I have two majors ,one in Physics and the other is Electronics engineering.I have 7 years of work experience in Embedded systems and firmware development. I want to do MS from a reputed US university( like Stanford ,University of California Berkeley etc). Do you think I stand a good chance?I need your opinions. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Most of the top schools (including Stanford and Berkeley, who even states that they will not consider students looking to earn a terminal Masters' in their graduate catalog) don't have terminal Masters' programs.

However, if you were applying to a graduate program, relevant work experience would certainly count for something.

rayamr said:
Hi,

I have two majors ,one in Physics and the other is Electronics engineering.I have 7 years of work experience in Embedded systems and firmware development. I want to do MS from a reputed US university( like Stanford ,University of California Berkeley etc). Do you think I stand a good chance?I need your opinions. Thanks in advance.

It depends on the type of degree. A lot of schools have masters degree programs for working professionals, but you do have to do your research before spending the money on those degrees. There are situations that I know of in which the school has a big name, but the working professionals program doesn't have a particularly good (or bad) reputation.

Also, if you are already working, then getting a brand name isn't that useful for career purposes.