Does this question make sense?

• Thread starter vellagtr
  • Start date
In summary: This will help you understand the forces and torques acting on the object.In summary, the instructor is asking for the force at the left and right end of a plank with a weight of 200 lb, three feet from the left end. If the plank is suspended by ropes at the end, the left end will have 600 ft lbs of torque. If the plank is simply supported on two bricks placed at the ends, the left end will have zero torque.
vellagtr
[Note: Thread moved from General Physics, so no template is shown]

Sorry guys, beginner here taking an online introduction physics course. I'm on a unit involving torque and force. The computer lab taught me how to calculate the force needed to balance a seesaw type setup on the left side, with a given weight on the right side. Easy enough. But one of the questions my instructor has given me seems a bit different, or maybe I'm not getting the point..

"Use the sum of vertical forces and torque equations to calculate the force at the Left and Right end of a 10 foot long plank that has a 200 lb weight 3 ft from the left end.."

Shouldn't there be some type of axis that the plank sits on?

Any help would be much appreciated

Thanks guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
Imagine the plank suspended by ropes at the end, like a scaffold.
Or simply supported on two bricks placed at the ends.
It does not matter how the forces at the ends are produced. But it may help to imagine some specific situation.

vellagtr said:
Sorry guys, beginner here taking an online introduction physics course. I'm on a unit involving torque and force. The computer lab taught me how to calculate the force needed to balance a seesaw type setup on the left side, with a given weight on the right side. Easy enough. But one of the questions my instructor has given me seems a bit different, or maybe I'm not getting the point..