Does it matter who the recommendation letter is from?

In summary, the person is a physics undergraduate student who is planning to apply to graduate school in the future. They have a current research professor who will provide a strong letter of recommendation, but their previous research professor has a negative reputation and they are unsure if they will receive a good recommendation from them. They are considering asking this professor for a letter, but are also unsure of the status of their research project and potential publication. It is suggested that they ask the professor directly and consider finding another reference if needed.
Physics2468
I am a physics undergraduate student hoping to apply to grad school in the future. While my current research professor of a year is wonderful and will no doubt provide a great letter of recommendation, my previous research professor has a negative reputation around the department (I thought he was fine but other professors complained about personality, apparently is often very rude) and, more importantly, I am unsure whether or not he will give me a good rec (initial work went okay, mentioned possible publication, but halfway through the semester he stopped contacting me and ceased work suddenly). I have others I could ask for a rec letter, but I have research credit with him on my transcript. Unsure of publication status. Should I ask him if he can provide a strong letter of recommendation?

Physics news on Phys.org
The only way to know if he'll write you a decent reference letter is to ask him. Usually people won't lie about these things. You might want to follow up with him anyway if the work just ceased and you have no idea if any of it will ever be published.