Documentary on cutting-edge physics Strings / LQG

In summary, while strings theory, branes, and LQG are all theoretically possible theories, they are not "professionally researched" because there is not yet a logical/mathematical model that can be tested. There is a slim chance one of these theories might predict a variation in the speed of light with energy, but it's still unproven. For more up-to-date, empirically-tested theories, try looking outside of the ST+LQG box.
autumnwests
Hello there,

I am filming a documentary on cutting-edge physics, and I was wondering what constitutes a "professionally researched theory."

What is it about ST and LQG that make them "professionally researched?"

Are there other non-profesionally researched theories out there?

Thanks so much!

I have an undergrad degree in physics from Harvard, but I am now in film school--go figure!

I enjoyed Deja Vu--I read that Brian Greene of THE ELEGANT UNIVERSE was the leading consultant on the movie, which includes time-travel and wormholes.

Speaking of which, are wormholes and time travel "professsionally researched" theories?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
autumnwests said:
Hello there,

I am filming a documentary on cutting-edge physics,

IMO the longterm effect of giving media play to speculative untestable ideas (and treating them as science "documentary" rather than fantasy) is to distort public perceptions of science and undermine the credibility of theoretical physics.

What are loosely referred to as "theories" are often some work-in-progress better called a theory-in-development. The real bar-mitzvah day for a theory is when the logical/mathematical model is complete enough so you can derive a falsifiable prediction from it.

That is, the theory bets its life on an outcome of some future experiment or observation that hasn't been made yet. If the predicted result is not seen, the theory is dead.