Do Many Physicists leave academia for industry?

In summary: It really depends on what one means by "a job in physics." If one means a professorship at a research university, the odds are not very good. However, if one means a career doing physics research in some capacity, there are many opportunities.
SpaceNerdz
I had dinner with my Physics Professor ( it's one of those student-faculty dinners organised by the school), and he told me that ( and I am para-phrasing as closely as I can remember ) that "most Physics PHDs can get a job in Physics if they want to, but many don't want to " -- > be it low starting salary, unsure tenure track, the research university that does want to hire them is not top-tiered etc etc.

I was wondering if what he said is true, does anyone have any experience or have colleagues that went through this process ? I'm just an undergrad intending to major in Astrophysics, so I'm not sure if this is indeed the case.

Physics news on Phys.org
The answer is "it depends." It depends on ones specialty in physics and on what one means by "a job in physics."

"A job in physics" at its narrowest scope means, at least to some, a professorship at a research university where one continues doing exactly the kind of research performed along the way to obtaining a PhD. If that's what your professor meant by "a job in physics", he was sorely mistaken. Do the math. It's very simple math, no differential equations involved. A professor has on the order of ten graduate students throughout his or her career. Only one will replace him or her -- and that's assuming the department doesn't reorganize and recategorize the retiring professor's job as a teaching position. You have a better chance of winning at Russian roulette than winning at Research Professor roulette.