Do Manifolds have distance relations between points?

In summary: I've started to use the book 'An Introduction to Manifolds - Loring W. Tu' - it seems much clearer than the other one I was using. However - I have a question about manifolds still.Let's say we have a unit circle in ##\mathbb{R}^2## - one way to describe this manifold is as the set of points satisfying the equation ##x^2 + y^2 = 1##. Another way to describe the manifold is as the set of points which are a distance of 1 from the origin. So - to construct a manifold I can define a set of points satisfying an equation. But how can I do it if the manifold is defined by a set of points
me1pg
Hello everyone,

I am currently reading 'Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics' by Bernard Schutz and I have some questions about manifolds. I'm fairly new to Differential Geometry so bear with me!

On P33 he states that 'manifolds need have no distance relation between points, we shall need a definition of a vector which relies only on infinitesimal neighborhoods of points of M'.

My question is: how can you define the neighborhood around a point if you haven't already defined a distance relation between points? When you define a manifold are you simply defining a set of points which have a 1-1 mapping to Euclidean space or are you also defining a distance relation between the points?

Thanks in advance,
Pete

Physics news on Phys.org
Look up for ''Metric'' on wikipedia. Also, note that while a manifold does have a local metric, it does not necessarily have a ''global'' metric defining distances between any two points.

rustynail said:
Look up for ''Metric'' on wikipedia. Also, note that while a manifold does have a local metric, it does not necessarily have a ''global'' metric defining distances between any two points.