Do I need to study trigonometry before calculus?

In summary, studying trigonometry is crucial for understanding calculus, as many concepts and problems in calculus involve trigonometric functions. Even seemingly unrelated problems, such as integrating 1/(1+x^2), can involve trigonometry. Trigonometry is also essential for understanding other important functions, such as logarithmic and exponential functions. Therefore, it is recommended to have a strong foundation in trigonometry before diving into calculus.
WORLD-HEN
I am studying calculus on my own, and I just skip everything to do with trigonometry. I have never done trigonometry before(except just the basic ratios), and I was wondering whether you really need to study trigonometry before calculus. I see a lot of trigonometry in my calculus book, and I wonder whether I need to know all that to get any deeper insight. Of course, eventually I will do trigonometry, but do I have to before calculus?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
WORLD-HEN said:
I am studying calculus on my own, and I just skip everything to do with trigonometry. I have never done trigonometry before(except just the basic ratios), and I was wondering whether you really need to study trigonometry before calculus. I see a lot of trigonometry in my calculus book, and I wonder whether I need to know all that to get any deeper insight. Of course, eventually I will do trigonometry, but do I have to before calculus?

Calculus does use a bit of trigonometry, so I wouldn't skip over it altogether. Anyways, some of the trigonometry helps reinforce the concepts learned in calculus. For instance, taking the derivative of sin 2x requires both knowledge of differentiating trigonometry functions (d/dx[sin x]=cos x) and also applied chain rule (2x as u) thus yielding 2 cos 2x. Of course, it can get far more complicated than this, but it shouldn't be too difficult of a problem if you have the right mindset.