Do I have a chance to get into top physics programs?

In summary, your chances of getting into a top-ranked university like Princeton or Stanford are decent, but you may have a better chance at a lower ranked university.
Supercondcutor
Hi,
I know such questions have been asked several times in this forum, but it would be a nice guide for me to choose where to apply.

I am an Electronics Engineering bachelor student from a university in the middle east that does not have a physics program (and physics programs in my country are bad anyway). However, I have two REU's in theoretical physics in Germany (with one presentation and poster), I'm the top of my class (about 500 students) with an A+ in all courses, I have excellent recommendations, I have won several regional contests in math, programming and chemistry, I had several math and physics extracurricular courses and I had a 990 in the physics GRE.

I know that the fact that my undergraduate major is not physics will make the admission committee not sure about my physics background and will be a big minus but I want to ask if
I have a reasonable chance to get into places like Princeton or Stanford, or should I try lower ranked universitirs?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not really qualified to comment, but I got to think you have a decent chance.

where are you right now? it'll make a difference

ice109 said:
where are you right now? it'll make a difference

I am in my final year at my university in Egypt (probably not a known university in the US)

No matter what you think your chances are, apply to both. Apply to a lot of schools. Pick a few that you really want to go to but may not get into. Pick a bunch that you'd like to go to and you think you have a good chance at, and pick a few that you're confident you can get into.

Also, it depends on what kind of physics you plan to study.

Hope this helps.

evenkolder said:
Also, it depends on what kind of physics you plan to study.