Discover the Science Behind Physically Inverting Sound Waves

• Thread starter Bluestribute
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sound
In summary: Visit thrift stores for acoustic materials, such as foam, fabric, and paper. You can also purchase acoustic foam at some hardware stores.
Bluestribute
First off, I'm new here so I'll do a brief introduction:

I've never taken a physics class, but am taking AP Physics next year (didn't know they offered it at my high school). I'm also a musician and wannabe engineer, so I'm really interested in sound properties, acoustics, etc. So that's me. Anyways . . .

If I wanted to physically invert a sound wave, how would I do that? I saw someone said to just connect a speaker in reverse (+ to - and - to +), but couldn't find any confirmation on that. Also, how would one go about finding the distance required to create deconstructive interference?

I'm basically seeing if I can capture any given sound or melody and mute it (or reduce its volume) by playing it back with an inverted sound wave to create deconstructive interference.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Is there an easier way to do it though? I feel like my project isn't quite that complex to require a special circuit (but I'm the one with no experience so =P). It's just a microphone capturing sounds, and sending those sounds back out through a speaker, but inverted.

Taken from another forum:

". . . It really doesn't matter the polarity of the wire as long as you hook up the correct terminal of your receiver to the correct terminal of your speaker (hot to hot cold to cold) if the (-) wire is connecting the hot terminals that's fine. If you end up hooking your speaker up backwards you are basically inverting the phase of the sound wave so it will be 180 degrees off (speaker moves "in" when it should move "out")."

I'm assuming, given this is true, that while you can't hear a difference if it's by itself, you can use this inverted wave to cancel out the original one

Last edited: