Safety of chemical experiments at home

In summary, the conversation discusses the safety and practicality of performing chemistry experiments at home. The speaker suggests using a forum for advice and purchasing chemicals and glassware from reputable sources. They also mention the importance of proper safety precautions and having someone else present while conducting experiments. Finally, they mention that household items may not be as effective as ordering chemicals, but they can be more fun to work with.
bjon-07
I am a freshman at USD ( chem major). I absolutely love chem lab. I have been think about preforming some experiments at home. Is this a bad idea, unsafe.

I have had basic college lab knowldge, i.e. what to do if you spill an acid, ect.

Is it safe to buy chemcials (an or labware) on ebay ( can i assume they are what the labels claims they are)?

One last question, in chem lab we did the classic experiment of sliver coating the inside a beaker. Could i use this to coat other objects in sliver ( i.e. my paintball gun).

Thank you for your time! :)

Chemistry news on Phys.org
www.sciencemadness.org/talk/

That's a great forum dedicated to practical chemistry at home. All experiments can be safe, provided you know exactly what you're doing. The stuff on ebay is for real. I suggest CHEMSAVERS INC. as an ebay store for chemicals, and all the glassware you'd need is offered by various members. I wouldn't bother ordering chemicals though, it's a lot more fun to use household items to make what you want.

Oh and I don't think you can use that silver to coat your gun. It's probably just wash off/rub off on your hands. I suggest paint!

Well... I'd have to agree with Thunderfvck on this one... mostly.

Here's the thing. It's great that you know basic lab safety procedures, but here are some things to keep in mind.