Dirac Equation and Pauli Matrices

DI have to say, it's interesting how much I have learned in the past few months. I returned to school after a long hiatus (10 years), and I am completely changed. I was a terrible student the first time. I didn't understand how to learn. I didn't understand how to take notes. I didn't understand how to study. This time around, I'm the minority in my classes. I'm 28 now, and I am surrounded by young, bright, and motivated students. I have to say, I love it. I love being a student. I love the fear of the unknown that comes with learning. I love the competition. I love the challenge. And most of
HeavyMetal
I have been reading through Mark Srednicki's QFT book because it seems to be well regarded here at Physics Forums. He discusses the Dirac Equation very early on, and then demonstrates that squaring the Hamiltonian will, in fact, return momentum eigenstates in the form of the momentum-energy relation.

He uses the Hamiltonian [itex]H_{ab}=cP_{j}(\alpha^{\ j})_{ab}+mc^2(\beta)_{ab}[/itex]
So it is easy to see that [itex](H_{ab})^2=c^2P_{j}P_{k}(\alpha^{\ j}\alpha^{k})_{ab}+mc^{3}P_{j}(\alpha^{\ j}\beta+\beta\alpha^{\ j})_{ab}+m^{2}c^{4}(\beta^2)_{ab}[/itex]

He then explains that if we choose suitable matrices that satisfy a few equations, that we can obtain the momentum eigenstate in the correct momentum-energy form. These matrices satisfy:
{[itex]\alpha^{\ j},\alpha^{k}[/itex]}[itex]_{ab}=2\delta^{\ jk}\delta_{ab}[/itex]
{[itex]\alpha^{\ j},\beta[/itex]}[itex]_{ab}=0[/itex]
[itex](\beta^2)_{ab}=\delta_{ab}[/itex]
Where brackets represent the anticommutator.

Ultimately, after some arithmetic we find that:
[itex](H^2)_{ab}=\textbf{P}^{2}c^{2}\delta_{ab}+m^{2}c^{4}\delta_{ab}=(\textbf{P}^{2}c^{2}+m^{2}c^{4})\delta_{ab}[/itex]