Diophantine equation in the integer quantum hall effect

In summary, the conversation is about a person studying the IQHE and trying to understand the diophantine equation. They have read articles by Thouless and Kohmoto, but are still unclear about the link between the diophantine equation and the darboux theorem. They have also looked into the magnetic translation group but are struggling to make the connection. They are seeking help and have been provided with a readable derivation of the diophantine equation and a reference for using the magnetic translation group argument.
alex022
Hi everybody!

I'm studying the IQHE and I want to understand the rise of the diophantine equation. I read the thouless article but it was no so conclusive.
I've also read the kohmoto article (phys rev B 1989) and he says that that property comes from the darboux theorem but i don't understand why… I've investigated the magnetic translation group but now I cannot do the link with the diophantine equation.

Can you help me?

Thanks a lot!

alex

Physics news on Phys.org
Here is a readable derivation of the diophantine equation in IQHE:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/51904?seq=8
See section 5 in particular

Last edited by a moderator:
See also the reference they cite for the derivation using magnetic translation group arguement.

Related to Diophantine equation in the integer quantum hall effect

1. What is a Diophantine equation in the integer quantum hall effect?

A Diophantine equation in the integer quantum hall effect is a type of mathematical equation that is used to describe the behavior of electrons in a two-dimensional electron gas under the influence of a magnetic field. It is named after the Greek mathematician Diophantus, who first studied equations with integer coefficients.

2. How is a Diophantine equation used in the study of the integer quantum hall effect?