Dimensional analysis, I'm kinda lost

In summary, the conversation discusses the formula for computing wind force on a body and the importance of keeping the equation dimensionally homogeneous. The units of 0.00256 are in lbf/(mi/h)^2, and the drag coefficient (Cd) is a dimensionless term. To non-dimensionalize this term, the wind velocity (V) and projected area (A) are needed. The importance of checking units is also emphasized.
coasterguy

Homework Statement

* The force of wind acting on a body can be computed by the formula:

F = 0.00256 Cd V2 A

where:

F = wind force (lbf)

Cd= drag coefficient (no units)

V = wind velocity (mi/h)

A = projected area(ft2)

* To keep the equation dimensionally homogeneous, what are the units of 0.00256?

The Attempt at a Solution

th_0925091636-01.jpg
I'm really new to this, and the professor didn't explain it well. IDK if I did that right so far, but I'm not sure what to do next. What does it mean by the units of .00256? Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Since you know this already, I will answer your question with another question.

What is the full definition of [tex]C_d[/tex] ?

What 2 important variables are missing to non-dimensionalize that term there?

As your topic implies, check your units.

Dimensional analysis is a powerful tool used in science and engineering to ensure that equations are consistent and meaningful. In this case, the units of 0.00256 must be determined in order for the equation to be dimensionally homogeneous, meaning that all units on both sides of the equation must match.