Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Difficult Improper Integrals in Real Analysis.

bw0young0math

Jun 14, 2013
Hello. I'm studying improper integrals in real analysis. However, two problems are very difficult to me. If you are OK, please help me.(heart)

55.jpg

I have solutions about above problems.
However, I don't know how I approach and find the way for solving them.

Attachments

chisigma

Feb 13, 2012
Re: Help me~♡ Difficult improper integrals in real analysis.

Hello. I'm studying improper integrals in real analysis. However, two problems are very difficult to me. If you are OK, please help me.(heart)
Let's consider the second integral. A primitive of the function is...

$\displaystyle \int \frac{d x}{x\ \ln^{\alpha} x} = \frac{ \ln^{1 - \alpha} x} {1 - \alpha} + c\ (1)$

... but the fact that the integral is from 0 to infinity introduces several difficulties. In particular for $\alpha> 1$ the (1) has a singularity in x= 1 and that means that the integral diverges and for $\alpha< 1$ the (1) tends to infinity if x tends to infinity and also in this case the integral diverges...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$

ZaidAlyafey

MHB Math Helper
Jan 17, 2013

We have to consider \(\displaystyle \alpha>-1 \) to solve the first integral by Laplace transform .

chisigma

Feb 13, 2012

chisigma

Feb 13, 2012

We have to consider \(\displaystyle \alpha>-1 \) to solve the first integral by Laplace transform .
May be that the following 'forgotten formula' ...

http://mathhelpboards.com/analysis-50/laplace-transform-7057.html#post32097

$\displaystyle \mathcal {L} \{f_{1}(t)\ f_{2}(t)\} = \frac{1}{2\ \pi\ i}\ \int_{\gamma - i\ \infty}^{\gamma + i\ \infty} F_{1} (z)\ F_{2}(s - z)\ dz\ (1)$