Differentation of Partial Derivative with respective to high order

In summary, Differentiation of Partial Derivative with respective to high order is a difficult concept to understand and visualize. Without help, it is not possible to solve the problem.
danong
[SOLVED, THANKS]Differentation of Partial Derivative with respective to high order

hi there, i am actually studying about functional equation.
I got stucked with some derivatives problem,
and where i could find nowhere to refer or study from,
because it seems it is out of university book level.

my question is this :

what does it means by taking derivative with respect to partial derivative?
can anyone visualize this idea to me?
because i couldn't figure out the term with respect to partial derivative,
when it comes to a functional equation,
of which is a differential equations.

For e.g : F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) , find [tex]\frac{d}{dx}[/tex] of [tex]\partial[/tex] F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) / [tex] \partial [/tex] y' .

How can we write the full solution with partial derivative respect to y' ? and how bout y''?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Use the chain rule.

for example?

How would you usually apply the chain rule for a function with multiple variables?

sorry i couldn't understand, can you show me the way?
much appreciated.

You couldn't understand what exactly? Are you telling me that you don't know what the chain rule is?

yeah, sort of, I'm not good in this, can u show me the general solution with respect to this particular problem?

Please ... if you know how, just show me the solution, don't try to test my skills, i am not good in this. that's why i need help.

Thanks in advance.

God Bless your day.

okay thanks for sharing,
now i fully understand the rule of this chain rule,
but still don't quite sure how to solve the problem stated above.

could you please provide the solution?

Thanks in advance.

God bless~