Difference between mixed states and pure states.

In summary, the conversation discussed the difference between pure states and mixed states in quantum information. Pure states represent a known quantum state where all information is known, while mixed states represent an unknown quantum state with only partial information. A pure state can be in an eigenstate in some basis but not in others, while a mixed state has probabilities for different eigenstates. Superposition between pure states is still a pure state, but throwing away phase information can result in a mixed state.
Casco
I am doing my thesis in quantum information and I am learning the background of it, I met this two things mixed and pure states. I have read a few books and a few articles too. But I still can not get the idea. So If anyone can give some help explaining this, would be such a good help. Either if you just want to give me a good reference it is welcomed, not forgetting that I am an undergraduated. Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
A pure state is the basic way of representing a known quantum state. Basically, it means you know everything there is to know about the system or subsystem that the state refers to. That doesn't mean you can predict the results of a measurement, because the pure state might not be in an eigenstate of the measured quantity. But it is in an eigenstate in some other basis. On the other hand, a mixed state represents an unknown quantum state. Since you don't know the state, you don't know the state in any other basis either.