Difference between fusion and fission

In summary: However, due to the abundance of this isotope in nature, 235U also decays via alpha decay, which has a half-life of about 2.7x10-8 years.The usual decay mode is alpha decay to 231Th. The branching ratio (fraction of decays) for spontaneous fission (SF) is 7x10-9.
cl_steele
Hi there,
Sorry if thisis a stupid question its just been bugging me for a while and I am not a scientist as such so need help with the answer...
nuclear fission is where two atoms collide and release energy yes?
nuclear fusion is where two atoms combine to release energy and a new isotope however.. this is my question;
these two methods of nuclear reaction same the basic core principle of two atoms colliding how does the differentiation occur when the method as best i see is the same?
Thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
cl_steele said:
nuclear fission is where two atoms collide and release energy yes?

No, fission is when a single nucleus splits into two smaller ones plus maybe some "small change" like a couple of neutrons.

Where did you see that fission is when two nuclei (atoms) collide?

jtbell said:
No, fission is when a single nucleus splits into two smaller ones plus maybe some "small change" like a couple of neutrons.

Because atoms don't tend to just split in half if i remember rightly?
And School, College and a friend who studies physics albeit the wrong branch

jtbell said:

i should point out I am talking in an atomic weapons stand point