Diamagnetic vapour + electromagnetic grid

In summary, the effects of an electromagnet on a layer of fog are likely to be negligible due to the natural diamagnetism of water vapor. However, using the electromagnet to create changes in air pressure or eddies in the fog could enhance the visual effect. Experimentation with different configurations may be necessary to achieve the desired results.
pearlteeth
I know, I know. I didn't fill out the thing.
But I don't really have a 'problem' to solve, I'm just looking for some vague theoretical speculation...

I'm a new media art student and I'd like to use a grid of electromagnets to undulate a layer of low-lying fog (which would be glycerin + water). I know that water is diamagnetic, but not very and I thought that water vapour might be affected more drastically than 'just water'. any thoughts? would the effects be negligible?

Thanks for your help

Physics news on Phys.org