DFT and phase stabily computation

In summary: AllisonIn summary, Allison advises Eric to use established DFT codes like Quantum ESPRESSO or VASP for his calculations and suggests using a hybrid functional or parallel computing for efficiency. She also mentions two methods for calculating the Gibbs free energy as a function of temperature - the quasi-harmonic approximation and thermodynamic integration.
aihaike
Dear all,

I'm new in the DFT word and I wish to calculate as a practice the [tex]\alpha[/tex]/[tex]\beta[/tex] quartz phase transition as function of temperature.
For each phases I imaged preforming CPMD simulation for a given temperature range and then calculate the phonon DOS. From the later I should be able to get the free energies.
So I wonder whether there is a "better" or more efficient way the get the Gibbs free energy as function of temperature?
My other issue is about which code to use. I had a look to abinit, bigdft, quantum-espresso and siesta. The point is it require lot of time to actually get use to each of them and then choice the best for you. So, I'd like to have your opening.
There are so many issues to manage (method, codes) that I'm getting stuck.
Thanks in advance.

Eric.

Physics news on Phys.org

Dear Eric,

Welcome to the world of DFT! Calculating the \alpha/\beta quartz phase transition can be a challenging and time-consuming task, but with the right approach and tools, you can get accurate results. Firstly, I would recommend using a well-established DFT code such as Quantum ESPRESSO or VASP for your calculations. These codes have been extensively tested and have a large user base, making it easier for you to find support and resources. Additionally, they offer a wide range of methods and functionals to choose from, giving you more flexibility in your calculations.