Designing Butterworth LPF to Meet J211 Specs with ADXL377 Sensor

In summary, the conversation discusses the design of a Butterworth LPF for a sensor with specific requirements, including pass band frequency, cutoff frequency, pass band and stop band ripple, and sample rate. The individual is experiencing difficulty with creating a stable filter using Matlab and is considering using the "designfilt" function. They also mention the possibility of converting from digital to analog using the reverse bilinear transformation or increasing the sample time to simulate an analog system.
ConnorM
Thread moved from the technical forums, so no Homework Template is shown
I am a student trying to design a Butterworth LPF to meet the class 1000 specifications, by SAE J211 (https://law.resource.org/pub/us/cfr/ibr/005/sae.j211-1.1995.pdf). My sensor is an ADXL377 accelerometer with analog output.

My filter requirements (from J211) are
fp = 1000Hz (Pass band frequency)
fc = 1650Hz (Cutoff frequency)
Rp = 0.5db (Pass band ripple)
Rs = -40db (Stop band ripple)
Fs = 10,000Hz (Sample rate)

My goal is to come up with some filter design that I can then implement with an RC circuit.
J211 specifies that it a 4th order butterworth could be used to meet the above requirements but when I try inputting the values on Matlab I obtain an unstable filter.

Wp = 2*fp/Fs
fs comes from 4th order filter with -24octave/db, and fc at -3db.
fs = 3590Hz
Ws = 2*fs/Fs

[n,Wn] = buttord(Wp,Ws,Rp,Rs);
[b,a] = butter(n,Wn);
G = tf(b,a);
isstable(G) —> outputs zero
Also the poles are in the right side of the imaginary axis in the pzplot...

Should I just use the “designfilt” function and take whatever it gives me?
Could someone help me out?

Physics news on Phys.org
ConnorM said:
Ws = 2*fs/Fs

ConnorM said:
Wp = 2*fp/Fs

ConnorM said:
I obtain an unstable filter.

ConnorM said:
Also the poles are in the right side of the imaginary axis in the pzplot

how much do you know about control systems and stability?