Designing and setting the operating point of a single tuned transistor amp

In summary, the conversation discusses setting the operating point for a transistor amplifier with a tuned circuit as the load. The gain and impedance at resonance are also mentioned, as well as the importance of stable bias for class A operation. There is also a mention of using a transformer-coupled load for transistors in cheap AM radios and the use of a 100 ohm resistor for bias in high frequency amplifiers. The output admittance of transistors and the use of voltage step-up in transistor radios are also discussed.
bitrex
Hello everyone, I'm just getting started in studying radio frequency design and have a question about amplifiers with a tuned circuit as the load. When setting the operating point of a standard class A transistor amplifier with a resistive load, one uses the collector resistor to set the current so that the transistor collector sits at about 1/2 Vcc.
My question is how one would go about setting the operating point when the load is a parallel tuned circuit consisting of a capacitor, inductor, and resistor. I know that the gain is going to be -gmZ where Z is the parallel combination of the resistance and reactance in the collector circuit, including the input impedance of the following stage. I also know that at the resonant frequency the collector load will appear basically resistive and the gain will be at maximum. However, I'm confused about the DC operating point - since the inductor is a short at DC as far as DC is concerned the collector will be sitting at about Vcc. Since the transistor load at DC is essentially a short, do you bias the transistor the way one would set up the bias on an emitter follower? Do you calculate the impedance of the collector load at resonance to put the collector at 1/2 Vcc for AC, or is this amplifier essentially operating class C and it doesn't matter? Any input would be appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org