Designing an air gun to launch simulated rpg's

In summary, when designing your air gun, make sure to consider the actual diameter of the valve and pipe, as well as the air pressure, to accurately calculate the force exerted on the projectile.
chickenwing71
I am designing a simple air gun to launch a 1 kg projectile 50 m at 100 m/s. I estimated the drag & calculated the necessary angle for this, but I ran into a bit of difficulty with the pressure/valves.

I need to use an air compressor at around 125-150psi to power it. I'm still a freshman undergrad and for some reason, we skipped this topic in general physics. I thought through it, and I think I did the math correctly for a 3 inch valve into a 3 inch pipe. However, for a 2 inch valve into a 3 inch pipe I'm not sure - do I just calculate the force on a 2 inch diameter opening & use that as my force, even though it is a 3 inch diameter pipe?

I attached my math on both the projectile & the pressure/barrel. (I realize for the projectile I just calculated drag for the initial velocity (even though it changes with velocity) but for only 50m at 100 m/s it isn't a very significant decrease.)EDIT: I hope this is in the right forum. It isn't really a homework/schoolwork/coursework problem, but I'm not sure if it would fit better in that forum. Sorry if I picked the wrong one!

Attachments

• Slide2.jpg
    Slide2.jpg
    36 KB · Views: 413
  • Slide3.jpg
    Slide3.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 398
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org