Defining Prime Factors, Greatest Common Factor, Least Common Multiple

In summary, prime factors are factors of a number which are prime, and the least common multiple is the smallest number that is a multiple of two or more given numbers.
kupid
I am a commerce student
But i decided to refresh my maths from some basics , i downloaded this book called algebra one for dummies .

I have few doubts .

What is the difference between

Prime factors
Greatest common factor (GCF)
Least common multiple (LCM)

Can i move to algebra factorization after learning these ?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Re: I decided to refresh my maths from basics and i have few doubts ?

stallman said:
I am a commerce student
But i decided to refresh my maths from some basics , i downloaded this book called algebra one for dummies .

I have few doubts .

What is the difference between

Prime factors

Can i move to algebra factorization after learning these ?

They are totally different

let me explain prime factors

before that let me explain prime number

A prime number is a number which does not have any factor other than 1 and itself

for example 7 is a prime as no number other than 1 and 7 divide it
but 6 is not a prime as 2 and 3 divide it
bt definition 1 is not a prime

prime factor is a factor of the number which is prime

for example for 42 the factors are 1,2,3,6,7,14,21,42 out of which 2,3,7 are prime factors and 6,14,21 and 42 are composite (not prime) factors

I hope explanation is clear

Thanks a lot for explaining prime numbers and prime factors , these little things have always been confusing

Could you also explain

and

?

kupid said:
Thanks a lot for explaining prime numbers and prime factors , these little things have always been confusing

Could you also explain

and

?

The greatest common factor is the largest number that will divide two or more numbers. For example, we have:

\(\displaystyle \text{gcf}(8,12)=4\)