Deciding to switch to mechanical engineering?

In summary, the conversation revolves around someone with no experience or knowledge in engineering, but with a passion for understanding how things work and a family background in engineering. They are considering pursuing a career in engineering and are curious about the required math courses and potential job opportunities. The conversation also touches upon the importance of curiosity and interest in the field of engineering, as well as the potential for hands-on learning and problem-solving skills.
St1llLearning
Hello all,

First off i have no experience nor knowledge in engineering whatsoever but have always had a knack for things of its nature. Currently I am a chef of over 10 years lol

I would like to know what I would be getting into if I do pursue this career path, considering most of my family on my fathers side have been engineers?

I know a fair amount of math is involved but how much? Considering I am not sure if I am good or not at it since I didnt pay attention my in school.

If anyone has any information that would some awesomely great help.

Physics news on Phys.org
St1llLearning said:
Hello all,

First off i have no experience nor knowledge in engineering whatsoever but have always had a knack for things of its nature. Currently I am a chef of over 10 years lol

I would like to know what I would be getting into if I do pursue this career path, considering most of my family on my fathers side have been engineers?

I know a fair amount of math is involved but how much? Considering I am not sure if I am good or not at it since I didnt pay attention my in school.

If anyone has any information that would some awesomely great help.
Welcome to the PF. :smile: