CS vs CE for AI: What's Best for AI Studies?

• Programs
  • Thread starter Krushnaraj Pandya
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ai Cs
In summary, the conversation discusses a student's uncertainty about pursuing a computer science or computer engineering degree at Memorial University of Newfoundland. The student is interested in AI and has some coding experience. They are seeking guidance on how to further study AI. It is mentioned that the terminology used by universities to label degrees may not accurately reflect the courses included. The suggestion is made to look at the specific courses required for each major to determine which aligns more with the student's interests.
Krushnaraj Pandya
Gold Member
Hello,
I'm an Indian student just graduating from high school and am about to begin studies in Memorial University of Newfoundland. I'm not sure whether to pursue a computer science degree or a computer engineering degree- I'm fascinated by AI and have learned a bit of coding myself, any guidance on how to study AI related fields further would also be appreciated.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
U of N labeling degrees science vs engineering won't tell folks much. Schools don't always use the same vocabulary to define similar or identical course lists.

Look at the courses needed for each major and assess which interests you more.

Related to CS vs CE for AI: What's Best for AI Studies?

1. What is the difference between CS and CE for AI studies?

CS (Computer Science) and CE (Computer Engineering) are both fields that involve the study of computers and technology. However, CS focuses more on the theoretical and mathematical aspects of computing, while CE focuses on the practical application of computer systems and hardware. In terms of AI studies, CS would involve more programming and algorithm development, while CE would involve more hardware design and implementation.

2. Which degree is better for pursuing a career in AI?