Critical Buckling loads-how to plot?

In summary, to determine the mode of failure, we must compare the calculated stress from the bending stress equation to the critical load calculated from the Euler's buckling equation. If the calculated stress is greater than the critical load, the mode of failure is due to buckling, and if the calculated stress is less than the critical load, the mode of failure is due to bending. To plot a graph, we can plot the bending stress equation as a function of applied load and the Euler's buckling equation as a function of column length.
clockworkrobot

Homework Statement

Hi all,
I am an architect so engineering is not my strong point. for these equations I am unsure how to correctly determine the mode of failure and plot a graph. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also the attached files have the formulas written and question written down.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Attachments

• BTSQ1.pdf
    1.6 MB · Views: 262
  • BTSQ2.pdf
    1.4 MB · Views: 303
Physics news on Phys.org

Hello,

I understand that engineering concepts can be difficult to grasp for those outside of the field. However, I am happy to assist you with determining the mode of failure and plotting a graph for these equations.

To determine the mode of failure, we first need to understand the equations and their variables. From the attached files, it seems that the equations are related to structural analysis. The first equation appears to be the bending stress equation, which calculates the stress on a beam under a specific load. The second equation is the Euler's buckling equation, which determines the critical load at which a column will buckle and fail.