Creating a unit step function in Matlab

In summary: There's little chance he'll be answering your question.You could try emailing him. That may still be current.
skybox
Hi Guys,

I am trying to create a basic unit step function in Matlab that needs to be in the range of"
-5 <= x <= 5

I need this to be done via a function and not piece together using different intervals and it needs to show the whole -5 to 5 interval. I am just beginning in Matlab and am stuck on where to start after creating the interval, which I made by using the following command:

%create the interval
x = -5 : 1 : 5

If anyone can give me guidance on how to start after this, it would be greatly appreciated. I tried using an if function with the following logic:

if x > 0, plot the graph of the unit step of magntiude 1
if x < 0, just plot 0's from the interval -5 to 0

This does not seem to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
Figured it out.

Used the following code:

n = -5 : 1 : -5

y = (n >= 0)

stem(n,y)

I think recent versions of Matlab come with the function under the name heaviside (i.e. Heaviside step function.)

Just in case anyone reads the last post, it is incorrect with regards to certain versions - the function heaviside is not defined in MATLAB 2008b, however i can't comment on any later versions than this

Hello,
Please allow me to share a solution.

Create your own m-file!
Code:
function [x]=unitstep(x)
%This is a unit step "function". The vector keeping track of time is the
%input. If time is negative then a zero is returned. If time is zero than
%0.5 is returned. If time is positive then 1 is returned.

if nargin==0 %demo the use of the function if no input is given
    x=-10:10;
end

x=x./abs(x); %this performs the same operation as the MATLAB "sign"
x(isnan(x))=0;

x=0.5*(x+1);