Counter from 0 to 11 then back to 0 (system verilog)

• Thread starter hoheiho
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Counter
In summary: I have zero experience with verilog, but since it compiles down to the same thing as VHDL, i would imagine the structure of what you can do is similar.
hoheiho
Hi all,
i am trying to do a counter using system verilog. The counter will count from 0 to 11 then back to 0 and start the counting again.

Input = rdy, if rdy = 0, start counting.
Output = count

I have done the simulation for my code and it is not working as i prefer. It will continues count until it's overflow but not back to 0 if the count = 12.
It seems like " else if (i==12)" doesn't work. How can i fix the problem? or i should not use else if here?

Thanks for the help
Ivan

Code:
always_ff @ (posedge clk,negedge rst)
  if(!rst)
      begin
      count<=0;
      i<=0;
      end
      else 
        begin
        if (!rdy)
          begin
          count<=count+1;
          i<=i+1;
          end
          else if (i==12)
            begin
              count<=0;
              i<=0;
            end
        else
          begin
          count<=count;
          i<=i;
          end
        end
        endmodule

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know verilog, but the if ... else if ... control flow typically won't attempt to evaluate the second conditional "else if (i ==12)" in this case, if the first is true.

there are a million and one ways to implement a counter in a hardware descriptive language. i would probably structure VHDL as
Code:
if(rising_edge(clock) and not RST) then
      if(i<12) then
          i <= 1 + 1;
      else
          i <= 0;
      end if
else if ( RST ) then
         count <= 0;
end if

its been a long time, so my syntax is probably all wrong.

p.s, what's the point in the ready signal?

earlofwessex said: