Could packet round-trip times be an analog to qubits?

In summary: No-Cloning Theorem". You can't copy a quantum state, hence you can't eavesdrop.In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of implementing a pseudo-quantum cryptography algorithm without quantum computers and the potential hindrance of Bell's Inequality. The idea of using packet round-trip times as an analog to qubits is also mentioned, and the conversation concludes with the explanation of the "No-Cloning Theorem" and its impact on cryptography.
MerryMoose
I'm a programmer who is trying to figure out if there is any possible way to implement a pseudo-quantum cryptography algorithm without quantum computers, or is Bell's Inequality something that is going to get in the way of that goal? Or if I am anywhere in the ballpark. I wouldn't be surprised if I were way off on everything.

The reason I'm looking at packet round-trip times is because it seems like an analog to a qubit. It doesn't have a certain value until you measure it.

This may be good for cryptography since an eavesdropping party couldn't measure it and see what you would see, and the eavesdropping would affect the value you end up with. For example, the owner of megaupload figured out that authorities were eavesdropping on his internet connection due to a decline in his connections performance, he then noticed an extra hop when running a trace route.

Compromised computers or routers on a local network could do similar things and not be nearly as noticeable. It still takes a cpu tick to process, it could be almost impossible to notice or measure in that circumstance, but it still changes the round-trip time, a very subtle change.

Oh and this is my first post here. Hello :-)

Physics news on Phys.org
MerryMoose said:
The reason I'm looking at packet round-trip times is because it seems like an analog to a qubit. It doesn't have a certain value until you measure it.