Coordinate change to remove asymptotic geodesic?

In summary, the conversation discusses a metric, specifically a diagonal metric with certain values, that may give a solution to the geodesic equation of motion that is asymptotic. The speaker is self-taught in special relativity and has questions about defining a metric with asymptotic geodesics and whether it can be defined with different coordinates. The possibility of removing this behavior through a change of coordinates is also mentioned.
ck99
Through my mathematical fumblings, I think I have found a metric which gives a solution of the geodesic equation of motion that is asymptotic. It is a diagonal metric, with g00 = (x_1)^(-3) and g11 = 1. I am largely self-taught with SR so I may be miles off, but I think this gives a G.E. of M which has a λ = 1 / (x_1) term in it, so my parameter goes to infinity when x_1 = 0.

Even if I have the details wrong, I have two questions:

1) Can you define a metric where geodesics are asymptotic?

2) Can you define the same metric with different coordinates to remove this behaviour?

The only thing I can think of is some kind of substitution, but I don't really know what to do and the textbook I am working through is not a lot of help. I even got the massive "Gravitation" book out of my library but if it did contain the solution, I didn't understand it!

Hopefully someone can give me a clue :)

Physics news on Phys.org
In the Schwarzschild metric in the usual coordinates, the inward-going null geodesics run off the coordinate patch, going to t = +∞ as r goes to 2m. Is that what you mean by asymptotic?

Bill_K said:
In the Schwarzschild metric in the usual coordinates, the inward-going null geodesics run off the coordinate patch, going to t = +∞ as r goes to 2m. Is that what you mean by asymptotic?