Converting 2 mmol Nitrite to mg/l and ppm

• Thread starter caliban07
  • Start date
In summary: I don't understand what you are asking.In summary, it seems that converting 2 mmol of nitrite into mg/l and subsequently ppm which I believe is equal to mg/l is not as simple as google would lead one to believe. You should replace at least 50% of the water when nitrite levels exceed 1 ppm, and higher concentrations may be toxic to fish.
caliban07
Hello

Sorry to post here with what I believe will be a relatively simple response.

I am not a scientist but a fish keeper and would like to know how to convert 2 mmol of nitrite into mg/l and subsequently ppm which I believe is equal to mg/l

The molecular mass of nitrite is 46.01.

I tried to google this but the explanation was not clear cut enough for me to get m head around and work out for myself.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I take it to mean 2 mmol of nitrite per 1 lire?

If mass of one mole is 46.01 g, what is the mass of 2 millimoles?

Borek said:
I take it to mean 2 mmol of nitrite per 1 lire?

If mass of one mole is 46.01 g, what is the mass of 2 millimoles?
Yes. Is it that simple. I did think as much. I wanted to use this to argue my claims. Nitrite is toxic to fish. But a paper on the toxicity of nitrite to the zebra fish were using 2mmol before nitrites began harming and killing 50% of the stock. It did not say mmol/l. It read mmol-1 (-1 being super scripted)

Does this mean that 2mmol/l is 92.02 mg/l? That would be 92.02 ppm right.

In fish keeping people state that you should immediately replace at least 50% water when test results show >1ppm

From what I have learned about nitrites I don't believe this is at all necessary.

caliban07 said:
Yes. Is it that simple. I did think as much. I wanted to use this to argue my claims. Nitrite is toxic to fish. But a paper on the toxicity of nitrite to the zebra fish were using 2mmol before nitrites began harming and killing 50% of the stock.

LD50