Conversion of 24V airhorn to 12V

• Thread starter resres
  • Start date
  • Tags
    12v
In summary, the conversation discusses the installation of a 24V airhorn found at a garage sale into a truck with only a 12V battery as a power source. The suggested solutions are to either use another 12V battery in series or to find a DC to DC converter to produce 24V from the 12V supply. However, it may be difficult to find a converter that can supply the required current. Another suggestion is to adjust the airgap or re-wind the electromagnet to work with 12V. Additionally, using a small 12V battery and a DC to DC converter to charge it slowly may also be an option.
resres
Would anyone know how to install a 24V airhorn I found at a garage sale in my truck? Obviously I only have a standard 12V battery as a power source... Thx in advance, and easy on the mockery, I am not a mechanic or an electrician by any means...

Engineering news on Phys.org
Since it probably isn't going to produce much noise at 12V, you have a couple of choices...

1 ... A bit extreme bout you could series up another 12V battery and have that 24V feeding the airhorn
2. ... A better way would be looking at a boost DC to DC voltage converter to produce 24V from the 12V supply.
The only prob I could see with this way would be finding a DC to DC converter that can supply the current required by the airhorn. It could easily be 5 or more Amps

Some google searching would probably lead you to somewhere that sells such modules
Does the airhorn have an info label on it ? saying... 24V at xx Amps. ?

Cheers
Dave

Those things in my day were not very sophisticated. Open it up and see how it works.

Usually they are a vibrating diaphragm with moving contact that interrupts current to an electromagnet when the diaphragm moves.

The strength of the electromagnetic pull is in proportion to the current
and inverse proportion to the air gap.

It may well have too much air gap to work at 12 volts (half current)