Controls Engineering and Physics

In summary, if you like engineering and physics, and are doing well in your field, you can consider yourself an applied physicist.
nebbione
Hi everyone! I'm a Computer Engineering student, and for the Master Degree i think i would like to proceed my career in Controls Engineering, because i really like the subject, anyway my interests are aerospace, robotics and physics, do you think a controls engineer can have a significant career in these fields ?
And since I'm really interested in physics, do you think that if i do research in physical modelling for Controls Engineering i can even be considered a physicist or an applied physicist ?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
You will not be considered a physicist. But that's OK.

I am a registered Controls Engineer. There is plenty of work for people like you or me. You will find that straight physics work is not that common. However, chemical, robotic, and aerospace work is. Don't overlook the more mundane but very essential work such as electric power plants, refineries, assembly lines, food processing, HVAC work, and so on. Yes, it is easy to sneer at such work, but it is typically very steady work that pays reasonably well. There is also plenty of opportunity for advancement if you want to go that route.

Motion control in particular is getting a lot of attention. Nevertheless, while it is cool to discuss robots, the real work of controlling servos for actuators and non-linear curve compensation for process consistency is much more interesting.

yes but anyway since I'm an engineer, i can be considered an applied physicist, if I'm doing research or if i write publications about physics right?

nebbione said:
yes but anyway since I'm an engineer, i can be considered an applied physicist, if I'm doing research or if i write publications about physics right?

Only in your mind.

But as JakeBrodskyPE said, that's OK.

nebbione said: