Why does integrating both sides of a differential equation work in physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the different methods for solving differential equations, particularly the use of separation of variables and the chain rule. The second method involves transforming the differential equation into an integral and applying the chain rule to solve it. This method is equivalent to the first method but may be easier to work with in practice. The conversation also mentions the use of a "brief proof" for this method, which can be found in most freshman calculus textbooks.
Suicidal
In my calculus course I was tough to solve differential equations by separation and then integrating
For instance
dv/dt = a
dv = a*dt
v= a*t + c (c is a constant of integration)
then if I was given an initial condition such as v(0)=Vo I would substitute into my general solution
and get
Vo=a*0+c=c
V=a*t+Vo
Now that I started learning physics I keep coming across this funny way of solving differential equations:
v
[inte] dv=
Vo
t
[inte] a*dt
Why does this second method work. I realize that it is probably somehow equivalent to the first I just don’t see it. I would really like to know how and why this second method works.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
What you are doing is basically applying the chain rule
You have an original fuction f(v). It turns out that v itself is a fuction of t, say v(t).
The differential gives
dv = v'(t)dt
or in Leibnitz notion
dv = (dv/dt) dt. You can see this be saying the dt's cancel out. This is of course wrong, as any mathematician will tell you, but in practice it makes working with differential easier.

Now all you do is apply the chain rule to the given integral so that

v(t)
[inte]dv =
v(0)

t
[inte](dv/dt)dt with then saying physics-wise that dv/dt=a