Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Continuous deformation

ZaidAlyafey

MHB Math Helper
Jan 17, 2013
Prove that If two loops \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1 , \Gamma_2\) in a domain \(\displaystyle D\) can be continuously deformed to a point then they can be continuously deformed to each other .

I have no experience in topology , I found this note in a complex analysis book .

Ackbach

Indicium Physicus
Staff member
Jan 26, 2012
Re: continuous deformation

I think you must mean that the two loops smoothly deform to the same point. Is that correct? If so, can you think of a smooth deformation that takes one loop to the other?

ZaidAlyafey

MHB Math Helper
Jan 17, 2013

Assume that we have two closed contours \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1 , \Gamma_2 \) then we can continuously deform \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1 \) to \(\displaystyle \Gamma_2\) if we can find a deformation function \(\displaystyle z(s,t)=(1-s)z_1(t)+s z_2(t) \) where \(\displaystyle s \in [0,1] , t \in [0,1]\) and \(\displaystyle z_1(t),z_2(t) \) are parametrization for \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1,\Gamma_2 \) respectively .

Ackbach

Indicium Physicus
Staff member
Jan 26, 2012

Assume that we have two closed contours \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1 , \Gamma_2 \) then we can continuously deform \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1 \) to \(\displaystyle \Gamma_2\) if we can find a deformation function \(\displaystyle z(s,t)=(1-s)z_1(t)+s z_2(t) \) where \(\displaystyle s \in [0,1] , t \in [0,1]\) and \(\displaystyle z_1(t),z_2(t) \) are parametrization for \(\displaystyle \Gamma_1,\Gamma_2 \) respectively .
True, but you need more than that, right? Is the wording of the original problem such that both contours can be smoothly deformed to the same point? If so, how can you leverage that information to get the deformation you need?

ZaidAlyafey

MHB Math Helper
Jan 17, 2013