Construction Management - Questions for Engineers & Project Managers

In summary, an engineering technology degree is not as good as a regular engineering degree when it comes to getting a PE. However, it's an option if you can't get a BS in CM or engineering.
ideafx
Hi,

I have a few questions for anyone who is currently working in construction as an engineer or project manager.

I'm an HVAC/Building controls technician/installer and I want to pursue a career in the managerial side of the business. I only have an AS degree in electromechanical technology. I believe my shortest path to a graduate degree would be to pursue a BS in general business. Then I can enroll in a MS degree program in Construction Management.

As much as I would like to pursue an an engineering degree, my schedule would not allow it. I work 50-60 hours/week. Because of this, I'm forced to pursue a business degree online from a fully (regionally) accredited university. Would not having a BS in CM or engineering present a problem if I wanted to pursue a graduate degree in CM?

I know some schools have prerequisite courses that are required for a MSCM if you don't already have a CM/Engineering degree. Some of these schools seem to be pretty flexible when it comes to the types of undergrad degrees they allow into their graduate programs. However, I'm not sure if it's going to be that way in 5-10 years. There seems to be a growing movement towards certification for CMs, and I think a CM/Engineering degree is going to be a major requirement. An MBA in CM would be ideal, but not many schools offer it right now.

Anyway, I'm a little confused as to what I should do. Your thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
montoyas7940 said:

No. Either Excelsior College or Old Dominion University.

BTW, regional accreditation is the highest form of accreditation.

ideafx said:
Hi,

I have a few questions for anyone who is currently working in construction as an engineer or project manager.