Conservation of momentum and force of friction (static)

In summary, the conversation was about a programmer working on a simulation involving physics, specifically collisions between 3D spheres and the application of forces of friction. The programmer had found code to handle collisions and was able to apply conservation of momentum, but was unsure how to factor in the forces of friction and determine the resulting velocities. They were also concerned about the handling of rolling and potential spin in the simulation. Suggestions were made to consider the intersection of spheres during collisions and to handle rolling separately.
Turgrodan
I'm a programmer and I've been working on a simulation that involves some physics.

Part of my simulation involves two 3D spheres colliding where each sphere has its own mass and velocity. I already found code that handles that and applies conservation of momentum to get the new resulting velocities after the collision. No problem there.

The other part of my simulation involves applying a force of friction (static) and a force of friction (kinetic) to the spheres. That's easy enough to do; I have that part working too.

Here is my problem though. What happens when sphere "A" has a velocity of zero and a force of friction static associated with it and then another sphere "B" collides with it? The conservation of momentum instantaneously gives sphere "A" some velocity but how do I know whether that collision was enough to overcome the force of friction (static) on sphere "A" in the first place? Maybe the sphere "A" should still be at rest. And if sphere "A" should still be at rest, will the magnitude of sphere "B"'s velocity remain the same (like a ball rebounding off a wall)?

Maybe this can be explained to me in terms of 1 dimensional physics and I can figure out how to apply it to 3D later. Its been about 17 years since I've taken college physics, so I'm rusty on all this.

So I know that (m1*u1)+(m2*u2) = (m1*v1)+(m1*v2)