Conservation of Energy Question

In summary: Now some people seem to have certain understandings of the word "universe" but to me, "universe" is synonymous with "(all of) existence"So the question I have is, does that mean the total amount of energy in the universe is always the same?If by "the universe" you mean "existence" then, we can't know that. It may be philosophized, it may be suspected, it may even be theorized, but at the end of the day conservation of energy is derived from various closed systems within a bigger system, so we can't truly know if it applies to "the entire system"P.S. I am not a scientist, (maybe in 10 years,) so this is not a
m_robertson
Okay, so as I understand it, matter and energy can't be created nor destroyed, only converted from one form to another. So the question I have is, does that mean the total amount of energy in the universe is always the same? Presumably it is energy that is driving the accelerated expansion of the universe throughout the course time, so am I right in assuming that this energy will never be consumed no matter how long time goes on for?

Physics news on Phys.org
m_robertson said:
Okay, so as I understand it, matter and energy can't be created nor destroyed, only converted from one form to another. So the question I have is, does that mean the total amount of energy in the universe is always the same? Presumably it is energy that is driving the accelerated expansion of the universe throughout the course time, so am I right in assuming that this energy will never be consumed no matter how long time goes on for?

Conservation of energy applies to any closed system.
Now some people seem to have certain understandings of the word "universe" but to me, "universe" is synonymous with "(all of) existence"

m_robertson said:
So the question I have is, does that mean the total amount of energy in the universe is always the same?