Conservation of a mechanical energy question

In summary, The conversation is about a question regarding an Atwood's machine with two masses initially at rest. The question asks about the height that the heavier mass, m2, will rise to before momentarily coming to rest, given that it has an initial upward speed. The conversation offers tips and hints for solving the problem, such as using conservation of mechanical energy and finding the acceleration and using kinematics to find the distance.
wilmerena
Hi, this is my first time here and Id like to thank in advance for any help offered :smile:
Im having trouble with the following question about 2 masses in an atwoods machine.

2 masses are initially at rest at the same height, if m2 has a given initial upward speed, how high does m2 rise above its initial position before momentarily coming to rest, (masses for each are given with m2 being heavier)

I know that I need to show some work before I should post this, but I embarrased to say I don't know how to even apporach it :frown:

any tips will be greatly appreciated :biggrin:

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!
This is a conservation of mechanical energy question.
Set up the initial mechanical energy of the whole system (kinetic+potential)
When the system falls momentarily at rest (assuming that the string remains taut all the time), the system only have potential energy.
As a hint, note that with a taut, inextensible string, the increase of height for m2 must equal the decrease of height for m1

Last edited:
First, find the acceleration of the masses. Then use some kinematics to find the distance. Should be dead easy.

Related to Conservation of a mechanical energy question

1. What is the law of conservation of mechanical energy?