In summary: LISTEN 0 4096 127.0.0.53%lo:53 0.0.0.0:*
jack action
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
2023 Award
TL;DR Summary
I want to connect extra IPs to the internet on my server
I got a new server that I want to set up. It comes with 2 IPv4 and 1 IPv6. I'm new to these network settings and I have a hard time following what I need to do.

My ISP gives me this info about my IPs (not the real ones):

Code:
IP Address (main)     111.222.11.33
Netmask/Bitmask       255.255.255.0
Gateway               111.222.11.1
Resolver #1           115.225.111.88
Resolver #2           115.225.111.99

IP Address (extra)    111.222.22.44
Netmask/Bitmask       255.255.255.0
Gateway               111.222.22.1
Resolver #1           115.225.111.88
Resolver #2           115.225.111.88

IP Address (internal) 101.202.55.66
Netmask/Bitmask       255.255.0.0
Gateway               101.202.0.1
Resolver #1           N/A
Resolver #2           N/A

Link-local IPv6 Subnet
1234:5678:11:2222::/64

From the ISP dashboard I also created the following IPv6:

Code:
IP Address (created)  1234:5678:11:2222::1
Netmask/Bitmask       48
Gateway               1234:5678:11::1
Resolver #1           N/A
Resolver #2           N/A

I did a first install and I couldn't make either the extra IPv4 or the IPv6 I created reachable from an outside computer. All I ended up achieving was connections on localhost only. Anyway, I ended up screwing everything and now I did a new install. This time I chose to add an extra interface (ens4) during the OS install, setting it up with my extra IPv4, hoping it would at least work with this address. Nope. Works locally but not from an outside computer.

Here is the info from my network:
Code:
username@hostname:~$ ss -lntu
Netid              State               Recv-Q              Send-Q                           Local Address:Port                            Peer Address:Port              Process