Confusion about tension and pulleys

In summary, tension in the rope around a pulley produces a torque that causes the pulley to turn. This is due to the static friction between the rope and pulley, which allows the pulley to move with the rope. The tension is the same in both pieces of rope, but if the pulley has mass, the tensions must be different to rotate the pulley with angular acceleration. The frictional force between the string and pulley is what ultimately causes the pulley to rotate when the string moves.
hgfhh123

Homework Statement

I am a little confused about the concept of tension as it relates to pulleys. I am studying torque right now, and it says in the textbook that the tension in the rope around a pulley produces a torque that causes the pulley to turn. I don't fully understand this. I thought that tension was a pair of opposing forces that acted throughout the rope at each point in the rope. However, I don't understand how the same force would cause the pulley to turn. Since there is no friction between the rope and pulley, I don't understand why the pulley would turn in the first place.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
hgfhh123 said:

Homework Statement

I am a little confused about the concept of tension as it relates to pulleys. I am studying torque right now, and it says in the textbook that the tension in the rope around a pulley produces a torque that causes the pulley to turn. I don't fully understand this. I thought that tension was a pair of opposing forces that acted throughout the rope at each point in the rope. However, I don't understand how the same force would cause the pulley to turn. Since there is no friction between the rope and pulley, I don't understand why the pulley would turn in the first place.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution