Confusing relation between power,volatage and current

In summary, P=V*I always.P=I*I*R in all circumstances.There is no contradiction.P=V⋅I alwaysP= I2⋅R when R=const.... increasing V,decrease the value of I ...HUH? Where did you get that idea? Increasing V INCREASES the value of I by Ohms's Law, V=IRP=V⋅I alwaysP= I2⋅R when R=const.Not true, P= I2⋅R even when R is variable. Just remember that we are talking about instantaneous values, not average, not RMS.And how do you
Dikshant
Hii,i'm new in electrical and much confused bcoz of complicated relation between V,I, nd P.
If P = VI = cons. and increasing V,decrease the value of I,
but since P is also equal to I×I ×R and r is cons.,so decrease in I will always cause P to decrease which is supposed to remain constant.

And i can't get this relation's(p=vi) physical or practical meaning also...

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Practical machines are designed to a relatively narrow range of voltages (insulation, mechanical spacing) and heat dissipation capability.

Doug Huffman said:
Practical machines are designed to a relatively narrow range of voltages (insulation, mechanical spacing) and heat dissipation capability.
Thanks for reply sir,but i think,it doesn't explain, what i want to understand.

I don't know where you got the idea to inject cons (constant). Forget cons.

P=V*I in all circumstances.

P=I*I*R in all circumstances.

There is no contradiction.

P=V⋅I always
P= I2⋅R when R=const.

Dikshant said:
... increasing V,decrease the value of I ...
HUH? Where did you get that idea? Increasing V INCREASES the value of I by Ohms's Law, V=IR

zoki85 said:
P=V⋅I always
P= I2⋅R when R=const.

Not true, P= I2⋅R even when R is variable. Just remember that we are talking about instantaneous values, not average, not RMS.

anorlunda said:
Not true, P= I2⋅R even when R is variable. Just remember that we are talking about instantaneous values, not average, not RMS.
And how do you define instantenous value of R?