Confused - Materials question regarding c/a ratio

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of the c/a ratio for Beryllium using its atomic weight, atomic radius, and density. The working steps are shown, but there is confusion about the presence of two 2r terms and the (c/a) ratio. The solution is explained as using the equation a^2c = a^3 * (c/a) and substituting in the values for the atomic radius. The conversation ends with the confirmation of the solution.
Rajveer97
Poster has been reminded to post schoolwork in the Homework Help forums
Hi everyone, first time poster here, I'm studying for a Materials exam, one of my weakest subjects and this question is causing me a lot of pain:

Beryllium (Be) is a HCP metal with an atomic weight of 9 g mol-1 , an atomic radius of 0.112nm and a density of 1850 kg m-3 . Calculate its c/a ratio given that Avogadro’s number is 6.02×1023 mole-1 .

Here's the working after some basic steps
upload_2016-7-7_17-6-34.png

The thing that I don't understand is how this
upload_2016-7-7_17-7-56.png

becomes this
upload_2016-7-7_17-7-31.png

How are there two 2r there now? Where is the (c/a) coming from? I just can think through that, how does one get to that? Any help would be greatly appreciated I'm really stuck!
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi,
as far as I see
$$a^2c=a^3\cdot \frac{c}{a}=\left ( 2r \right )^3\cdot \frac{c}{a}$$

Likes Rajveer97
Irene Kaminkowa said:
Hi,
as far as I see
$$a^2c=a^3\cdot \frac{c}{a}=\left ( 2r \right )^3\cdot \frac{c}{a}$$

That seems to be the only possible answer, thanks! :)

Related to Confused - Materials question regarding c/a ratio

1. What is the c/a ratio in materials and why is it important?

The c/a ratio, also known as the c-axis to a-axis ratio, is the ratio between the length of the crystal's c-axis and its a-axis. It is an important measurement in materials science because it affects the crystal structure, properties, and behavior of a material.