Confused about using the integral and infinitesimal?

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the volume of a sphere using infinitesimals instead of the standard formula for integration. The concept involves stacking infinitesimally thin disks to approximate the volume and finding the thickness of spherical shells. This method simplifies the formula for one "slice" and allows for integration to find the volume of the sphere.
Dufoe
I don't understand what is meant by "derive the formula for finding the volume of a sphere that uses infinitesimals but not the standard formula for the integral"?
Is this talking about Gauss or what? I'm completely self taught in calculus and I did three proofs already... the old cylinder / cone proof, and the other two used the standard formula for the integral.. Even any link to something that explains this would help. I'm only aware of 7 proofs and I don't get how any of them meet both criteria..? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Possibly the exact wording of the question would help.

This may help:

http://math.stackexchange.com/quest...phere-by-dividing-it-into-infinitesimal-cubes

The idea is you already know the area of a cross-section of a sphere (a disk) from geometry: πr2. So now, what happens if you try to stack disks on top of each other, making their height increasingly small (or, conversely, having a greater and greater number of thinner disks).