Confused about future in academics and career

In summary, the individual is a senior in high school seeking guidance for their future major and job. They feel academically strong but lack passion for any specific field. They have a strong interest in dinosaurs and their evolution, but do not see this reflected in college. The individual may benefit from a liberal arts education to explore different fields before declaring a major. They should also accept that not everything in movies is based on reality and that some things may be more complex and less exciting in real life.
bcheero
Hey everyone. I'm a senior in high school and need some serious guidance for my future major and job. I can say that I'm a very good student, academically, yet I lack the passion for anything right now. I want my knowledge to be powerful, on a level where it impacts the world.

There are very few things I get excited about. Back when I was really young, dinosaurs were amazing and the Jurassic Park movies played a huge role in exciting me for that. The most fascinating history of the Earth occurred during that period and paleontology revealed a myriad of information about these ancient creatures. I don't know if this says anything, but I have a ton of fun learning about dinosaurs and seeing how evolution gave way to these magnificent creatures. However, I rarely see any of this in college...so I have no idea what to do.

What does this say about my future in college?

Physics news on Phys.org
bcheero said:
What does this say about my future in college?

You should accept that you won't change the world immediately, and that a lot of things that seem interesting in the movies are either a) not based on reality or b) a lot more mind-numbingly complex and/or boring.

It also seems like you'd benefit from some sort of liberal arts setting in which you can explore a variety of different fields. At the least you should be going somewhere that doesn't require declaring a major right away.