Confused about error propagation

• I
  • Thread starter kelly0303
  • Start date
kelly0303
Hello! I am confused about the results I am getting for an apparently simple situation. I have 2 measurements (counts), call them ##S_+## and ##S_-##. Based on these I build an asymmetry defined as:

$$A = \frac{S_+-S_-}{S_++S_-}$$

The parameter I need to extract experimentally, call it ##x## behaves like ##\frac{dx}{x} = \frac{dA}{A}## where ##dx## and ##dA## are the uncertainties on ##x## and ##A## (ignore systematic uncertainties for now). ##x## is fixed (given by the physics process I am studying) and let's say I want to extract ##x## with ##10\%## relative uncertainty i.e. ##\frac{dx}{x} = \frac{dA}{A} = \frac{1}{10}##. I have 2 situations (I will give the actual numbers I get). In the first one I have:

$$S_+ = 0.0484 N$$
$$S_- = 0.0324 N$$
where ##N## is the number of initial events and ##S_+## and ##S_-## are the events I am actually measuring. In the second case I have:

$$S_+ = 0.0085 N$$
$$S_- = 0.0027 N$$

Using the formula above, in the first case I am getting ##A_1 = 0.198## and in the second case I am getting ##A_2 = 0.519##. If I do an error propagation, I end up with the formula:

$$dA = \frac{2}{(S_++S_-)^2}\sqrt{S_+S_-^2+S_+^2S_-}$$