Confused about electrostatic voltage and DC voltage

In summary, the person is confused about electrostatic and DC voltage and how they work. They understand how a van de Graaff generator creates voltage, but they are unsure about the concept of two metal domes accumulating charge when connected to a DC power supply. They also question the possibility of a 100 kV potential building up between the domes using a voltage multiplier. The response explains that any metal connected to the terminals of a power supply will come up to the voltage of the supply, and a voltage multiplier can indeed create a high voltage difference between the domes.
electricnoob
Hi everyone,

I am a little confused conceptually about electrostatic voltage and DC voltage. I did my bachelors in biochemistry (where I’m working today), I’m learning/relearning physics as a hobby. I did well in high school physics and first year physics but I’m afraid I’ve forgotten most of it. Just want to say sorry about the length of this post, I’m trying to get this all straight in my head.

So I’m pretty sure I understand how a van de Graaff generator makes a voltage, it accumulates electrons on a metal dome and that concentration of charge makes an electric field. A charged body within that electric field at a given position will experience a force (either attractive or repulsive, depending) and the charged body is moved by that force until it can’t move any more. The distance moved multiplied by the force is the energy required (aka. work done). So a stationary charged body at a given position (e.g. it’s held in place with glue) will have a potential energy, which is the voltage. Please correct me if anything I wrote above is wrong.