Computing Numerical Integrals with Maple

In summary, the speaker is new to Maplesoft software and is having trouble computing numerical integrals. They have defined mathematical functions using variables and used "subs" to input values. However, when they try to integrate the output, they only get the unevaluated integral. They are looking for assistance or suggestions on how to improve their approach. Another person suggests starting with a simpler example to better understand the software. Finally, there is a suggestion to try using "evalf" without integration to ensure there is only one variable present.
WWCY
Hi all, I am new to the Maplesoft software and have been experiencing trouble computing numerical integrals.

I defined a few mathematical functions in terms of a few variables like so:
Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 12.41.48 AM.png

I then used "subs" to input values to anything that isn't already a defined constant (like ##\hbar,\pi## and all that) into my function Psisq.

I took the entire chunk of the resulting output and placed it into evalf( int( output, x=-infinity..infinity ) ) but all I got was the unevaluated integral rather than a number.

Could anyone assist or even suggest a better way? Many thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 12.41.48 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 12.41.48 AM.png
    17.8 KB · Views: 1,282
Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe you should start with something a little bit less complicated to learn how this all works.

Dr.D said:
Maybe you should start with something a little bit less complicated to learn how this all works.
Thanks

Maybe just evalf(output) without integration to make sure you only have 1 variable now.

Related to Computing Numerical Integrals with Maple

1. How can I use Maple to compute numerical integrals?